PDuino and DigitalIn

Hi there,

I'm new to using Arduino together with PD. Basically I want to use Arduino to use some buttons to trigger PD messages.

This should be pretty easy to do but I get stuck when using the digital ins on the board. Here's my setup:

Windows, PD-extended v 0.40.3, Arduino Diecimila and Software v 0015

I compiled and uploaded the StandardFirmata example to have the Firmata Firmware on the board. Then, using the PDuino-help patch i tried to interface the buttons with my pins.

Actually it was pretty easy to read analog values from the analog ins. However - I never got the digital ins to work. (Of course I deactivated the digital outs and activated the digital ins - without any result). I of course tried various configurations here but it really seems, that the digital ins are dead...

What am I missing here?
Thanks for any help!

How are you wiring up to the digital input pins? Are you using pull up or pull down resistors? Most problems with reading digital input pins have to do with allowing the input pin to 'float'. Lots of examples on how to wire up switches in the reference and playground areas of this site.

Lefty

hi,

i used a pull-down resistor (resistor right before ground). but i'm pretty sure that random values are not the problem (as i said - connecting the same thing to the analog in works flawlessly).

the problem is, that i do not get any input to the digital pins at all (not even random).

Sorry, but I would need to see a drawing and the code to figure out what you are actually doing, words don't do it for me. :wink:

Digital inputs are not that hard to get going usually.

Lefty

here's what i do:

O +5V
|
o---o[button]o---o [digital pin]
|
o---o[button]o---o [digital pin]
|
|
Z
Z Resistor (10k)
Z
|
|
O Ground