Permanent Digital Circuit

Hi guys,

I'm very new to arduino so sorry if I've miss understood the concept.
As part of a university project my lab group have used an arduino as a voltage dependent motor control and it has worked brilliantly.
What I would like to know is if there is a way to take what the code has described to the board and make it into a permanent digital circuit so the arduino board can be reused? Similar to the way one might use an FPGA in conjunction with an HDL to develop a system.

Thanks in advance. :grinning:
p.s sorry if this is posted in the wrong area of the forum.

A simpler and cheaper approach (to specialized digital circuitry) would be to buy another Arduino.

HDLs are Hardware Description Languages. What you write in a HDL is a description of a physical circuit (hardware) and can be used with automatic tools to configure an FPGA or make a board.

With a programming language, that's different. You're giving orders to the MCU. You don't describe what it IS, but what is DOES. So you need to set up a physical architecture (hardware), either keeping your Arduino board embedded in the project or designing your own board ; then upload the code into the MCU.

Understanding the difference between programming languages and HDLs is fundamental ^^

Converting to some sort of HDL for FPGA is a BFD - have you ever tried programming one of those things? It's miles and miles harder (and fundamentally different, as noted above) than programming arduino - PLUS you'll still need an FPGA, and a board it's soldered to - which will probably cost more than another arduino board. FPGA's don't grow on trees, you know.