pH Meter and regulation

Hi,

I'm new to Arduino and want to start with my first project.

I found already some information in the internet but I'm still not sure about everything.

The Idea:

First Step: What I want to do is a pH mesurement in a watertank.

Second Step: Adjust pH with pH down / pH up liquid ( acid / alkaline )

So I found different pH Meter Projects in the Internet I think I can use one of them for my project.

For the second step I need two peristaltic pumps to transport the acid / alkaline to the tank.

With the pH Meter projects there is also a program code, which I think is fine ?

The only thing I have to do is the control for the two pumps.

What do you think about this project ?
Could this work ?

Regards
Tonno

You would want to have a pump to stir the tank.

Something to keep in mind is that pH electrodes drift and have to be re-calibrated all the time.
They can't be left in the tank all the time, but must spend most of their time in the storage solution.

That the electrode must be calibrated after certain time is clear

I don't understand the point with the electrode in the tank? Why can't it be left in the tank?

In the program text I want to make a control every hour with a second control after 15 minutes when the solution is adjusted

The pH electrode works by measuring the voltage generated by ions passing through the glass membrane in the bulb. Over time the ions (I think K+) leak through the glass and change the composition of the reference KCl solution inside the electrode. This is why you're meant to store the electrode in the KCl storage solution. The reference electrolyte can also be gradually poisoned by ions from the process fluid diffusing into the electrode.

There's an interesting writeup here: http://www2.emersonprocess.com/siteadmincenter/PM%20Rosemount%20Analytical%20Documents/Liq_Article_Control_Engineering_Asia_201207.pdf

Basically an ad for fancy process control pH electrodes.