Phase angle control, TRIAC and AC motor control

Ultimate goal: Use PID to control a condenser fan in a small refrigeration setup.

I am a HVAC service tech. I have all of the required knowledge and tools required to safely (and ethically) handle refrigerant.

Background info: In compression refrigeration systems, the condenser coils typically are designed to operate at 30F (standard efficiency) above ambient temperatures(This is known as a 30F Coil TD). Most AC/R equipment, metering devices etc are designed to work optimally at a specific pressure differential across the metering device. Design day temperature corresponds to a 90F ambient temperature. This means that the saturated refrigerant vapour inside the condenser coil is 120F and a pressure that varies depending on the refrigerant you are using. In a closed loop system, where VOLUME does not change, the pressure of a saturated refrigerant vapour corresponds to the temperature. This means that if you can control the temperature of the refrigerant, you can control the pressure, and the saturated condensing temperature can always be calculated by measuring the discharge pressure off the compressor.

Since refrigerant heat exchangers are designed to operate at a fixed temperature above ambient, the ambient temperature directly effects the discharge pressure of the compressor. If you do not have a high pressure differential between your evaporator and condenser, you simply cannot move enough refrigerant across your metering device. If you can't move enough refrigerant across the metering device, you are going to be missing out on cooling capacity.

What I want to do.