Photo Interrupter with Hardware Status LED

Hi,

Im in the process of building a new lap timing&counting system for my slot car club. See http://www.arduino.cc/cgi-bin/yabb2/YaBB.pl?num=1286950257/3 for background if you are interested. Im a newbie around electronics, so please forgive me for any dumb questions or incorrect statements that Ive made.

The basics are a slotted photo interrupter which is mounted in each slot (4 lanes), which gets cut by the car's guide-flag just prior to the start / finish line. The arduino will be responsible for providing lap timing, and probably track power on/off. Laptime data will be sent a race control application on a PC via serial-usb. I havent quite decided on exactly which functions the Arduino and PC will control at this stage.

Anyway, at this point, Im building up a hardware test harness for proving the Arduino logic and PC s/w as I write it. I havent decided whether I will replace existing sensing hardware and logic boards at this point.

Below is the circuit I have set up for a single lane. This circuit will be duplicated 4 times, with different coloured LEDs as the lane colours are Blue, Red, Yellow, Green. Obviously with different R values.

Data Sheet for Photo Interrupter: http://www.jaycar.com.au/products_uploaded/ZD1901.pdf

As it sits, the logic Im getting at the digital input pin on the Arduino is what I want, which is HIGH when the PI is blocked, and LOW when non-blocked. The logic I am seeing is kind of strange to me, as I would have thought the logic would be opposite (PI = switch-closed when unblocked, which I would have thought would be HIGH?).

Anyway, my issue / question; I am presently getting the opposite logic to what I want on the indicator LED. When the PI is un-blocked (closed?), the LED is lit, and the LED is dark when the PI is blocked (open?). What I want is for the LED to light when a car's guide blocks the PI.