Photography Project : Intervallometer + Wireless Remote Shutter

Hello,

As a total beginner in electronics, I would be interrested in having your enlightened opinion, with one main objective in my mind : not to fry my arduino the first time I flow current through it ! (I’d rather wait the second or third time XD). I know it is generally preferred to have practiced a bit before posting, but I am not yet equipped (it is a matter of days), so it is all done mentally for now !

You will find below my preliminary schematics for a personal project concerning photography, which consists in :

• taking an indefinite number of photos at a regular frequency OR
  • taking one photo when a remote trigger is pressed

The components are :
a) Arduino Uno Rev3
b) Servo : Tower Pro SG90
c) Radio receiver : based on chip SC2272-M4 (some background here for instance : http://dzrmo.wordpress.com/2012/07/08/remote-control-pt2272-for-android/)
d) 24-step rotary encoder, which is also a button
e) Standard backlit LCD screen (some doc here : https://boutique.semageek.com/fr/index.php?controller=attachment&id_attachment=23)
f) Pololu 5V Step-Up/Step-Down Voltage Regulator S7V7F5, which I will feed with 2 or 3 NiMH AA batteries

My only question is :
Is there any major problem with my design = will it run safely ?

Well, while I am at it I do not mind some counselling on the following : :wink:

1. If it is OK, I will then play around and test the benefit of adding some extra “protection” : decoupling the source with capacitors, adding a flyback diode across the servo, handling the encoder rebounds with capacitors is mainly what I thought of.