Photoresister advice needed please

Hi,

I'm doing a project that requires the use of several photoresistors, and have just had a heart-wrenching thought. They need to be about 12" apart, so will I need seperate arduino boards/bread boards for each one gulp. I'm hoping (and praying) that there is a way of utilising lengths of jumper wire.

I'm a newbie, so please excuse my lack of knowledge! Hey, we've all got to start somewhere right?

Thank you in advance :-)

Have you looked at the playground and around the internet for similar projects?

12 inches shouldn't be a problem (12 feet on the other hand...?)...

Hi Tonyodonnell01. Yes I have, but I can’t find anything that answers my questions unfortunately.

Could I buy a long length of something similar to a jumper wire, cut sections off then insert two lenths of that into the breadboard instead of the photoresistor itself, then solder each photoresistor wire to the lengths of extension wire? Would this work? (I hope I’m making sense!)

Please see the attached pitcure.

Thanks

extension_wires.jpg

yeah, why not? just make sure they're as short as possible, because long wires make more resistance, and thus making the measurements less correct...but 12" is perfectly possible

i don't really see the point, 12" isn't far at all, is it? i mean, i've seen longer wires than that :)

Sorry, I wasn't clear enough at the start. There are going to be 8-10 light dependent resisitors - each 12" (approx .... maybe slightly less) in a line. So the furthest one away will be a good few feet from the board. If I soldered them properly would this be a problem?

Also will any single core wire do?

Thanks

Also, I was going to use these: http://www.hobbytronics.co.uk/ldr?keyword=light, but would these: http://www.hobbytronics.co.uk/light-dependent-resistor-norps12?keyword=light be more accurate?

I just need them to act like a switch, so when they’re in near darkness (hand placed over the top) an action will be triggered.