phototransistor sensibility

Hello.

I'm trying to use a phototransistor to "read" the light transmitted by some leds. It looks that the phototransistor is not sensible enough to read the light I'm emitting.

I built this circuit:

+5V----Resistor 18kohm----+------PhotoTransistor------GND | | Arduino

Question (i'm not an expert as you can see): how can I increase the sensibility? Increase the resistor? How much?

Thanks.....

What phototransistor are you using?

Post a link

Hi.

I tried with two. One is this
http://www.robot-italy.com/product_info.php?products_id=145
With this one I extracted the phototransistor (it is actually combined with an IR emitter) and I used a 10Kohm resistor.

Then I tried with a different one (for which I don’t have a technical reference, but it looks like a LED), with a couple of different resistor (10 and 18 Kohm), but I always got the same results…

If you have a particular mode to suggest…Thanks,

Decrease the resistance. Based on the datasheet, something a little bigger than 100ohm would be fine.

I would use a pot and vary it until I found the perfect resistance for the application.

http://www.gogoboard.org/cocoon/gogosite/documentation/images/ir_reflective_diagram.jpg

As ritalinkid says decreasing the resistor in the LED line will give you more light to play with. However the resistor in the collector of the transistor should be increased to increase the sensitivity. You see the smaller the amount of current flowing through the transistor the less light it takes to switch it. Try using 100K or bigger. The down side is that the smaller the current the slower is the response but for human movement speeds that should not be a problem.

Thanks!

I actually tried a 120Kohm resistor. The situation has been improved, but it looks it is not enough. Should I increase the resistor again or should I buy more powerful leds?
Thanks,

Isn't this in the wrong part of the forum?