PHP and Arduino

I am doing a project which consists in controlling Arduino through a website. I am fairly new to this and the deadline approaches for project delivery. For communicating with the Arduino I am using a COM port. Anyway, my question is, is there anyway to auto select the arduino port in PHP? It feels so bad when I have to run all the code and change all COM’s to the one I want.

All help is appreciated.

(See some of my actual code bellow)

misolans:
For communicating with the Arduino I am using a COM port.

That is not going to work for communicating with a website.

Have a look at this Python GUI demo. It has a system for selecting the port and you may be able to use the same technique with PHP.

...R

ieee488:

So far it is working... At least it works to change RGB Led to HIGH.

ieee488:

My guess is that the flow of data is
Arduino ----> PC (PHP) ----> website

...R

Robin2:
My guess is that the flow of data is
Arduino ----> PC (PHP) ----> website

...R

PHP can't run as standalone as Python does. It is a website programming language.

Arduino ---> PC (PHP + website) [cannot work]

misolans:
So far it is working... At least it works to change RGB Led to HIGH.

Good for you! I have no idea what RGB Led to HIGH really means. LOL.

ieee488:
PHP can't run as standalone as Python does. It is a website programming language.

Forgive my ignorance. I abandoned PHP years ago.

However I believe it can access the serial ports on the server so my sense of the role of the Arduino is probably correct.

...R

ieee488:

Arduino ---> PC (PHP + website) [cannot work]

Actually PHP can work standalone, used in command-line mode or as interactive shell .

Ciao, Ale.

ilguargua:
Actually PHP can work standalone, used in command-line mode or as interactive shell .

Ciao, Ale.

I don’t think that is what the OP has been mind, but if you know how to do what the OP wants, have at it! No one is stopping you.

It sounds like an interesting architecture.