PHP data transfer with official Wifi shield

Hello all,
While fairly familiar with Arduinos, I'm completely new to PHP and google hasn't proven to be very helpful with this, so I'm hoping someone can supply the piece(s) of missing information.

Essentially, I am trying to pass some data from the arduino to the PHP script using the GET function. I have this working fairly well, but it occasionally will fail and I have to reset the arduino. If you have any advice on how to make this process more reliable based on my code below, awesome. In an effort to try to help myself, I was thinking that having the PHP return some sort of checksum to the arduino may help in the diagnosis of what is actually causing the link to fail. The problem I've run into is that I can't get that checksum data back to the arduino. I'm currently using ECHO in the PHP script to output the time and it shows up fine when I access the script from my browser, but I have tried placing client.available() calls at multiple points in my arduino code and it never seems to receive any data back. Since I'm not familiar with PHP, I'm likely either missing a step, or going about this completely wrong.

Codes are posted below. Any suggestions?

-Scott

Arduino:

#include <WiFi.h>
#include <SPI.h>

int status = WL_IDLE_STATUS;
WiFiClient client;

#define ssid "my_ssid"

void setup() {
  Serial.begin(9600);
  if (WiFi.status() == WL_NO_SHIELD) {  // check for the presence of the shield
    Serial.println("WiFi failed"); 
    while(true);
  } 
  while (status != WL_CONNECTED) {  // attempt to connect to Wifi network
    Serial.print("Connecting:");
    Serial.println(ssid);   
    status = WiFi.begin(ssid);
    delay(5000);  // wait for connection:
  }  
}

void loop() {
  servePage();
  delay(10000);
}

void servePage() {
  Serial.println("connecting to server");
  String url = "http://my_website.com/update.php?ID=1&DATA=0";
  char server[] = "www.my_website.com";
  boolean complete = false;
  byte timeout = 0;