piano? noob! where to start!?

I was not sure where to post this! Sorry if it’s not in the right forum!!=\

Hiya all! I am a complete noob and I am sorry to bother yall with my naivety!=)
Ok, I went dumpster diving the other day and found an amazing piano (part of it at least) that Katrina obviously had for breakfast! I have wanted to learn Arduino and I feel this piano is the perfect opportunity (also it could count as my Hypermedia project!).

Here is the first of my many questions!
Is it possible to wire pressure sensitive pads (or whatever the professional term is) to the undersides of the keys??? And then make the keys respond by playing recorded piano notes? Ah, I have no idea where to even begin, but I really want to learn!!

Any tutorials yall might suggest!?=)
O! And for what I am attempting to do, what type of board and wiring should I buy?? do I use flash to tell the board hoaw to respond to the keys? any advice?!=)

THANK YOU GUYS SO MUCH!!!=D

Really more of an electronic music project – but Arduino can do a pretty good approximation.

We need to break this into three stages;

1. Detection of keyboard
  2. Generation of tone
  3. Misc. I/O (MIDI, et al)

If this was originally an electronic keyboard, then the original wiring is still there. At some point it was probably multiplexed, which may or may not be to your advantage. If there is no wiring, there are a number of contact strategies that might work for you – conductive foams (http://www.mutr.co.uk/catalog/product_info.php?products_id=1144), piezo triggers, leaf switches, buttons, hand-fabricated leaf switches with little bits of brass sheet, etc.

The next problem is that Arduino only has a dozen or so inputs. Meaning, to get a full octave (or two or three) of keyboard you will have to multiplex.

If you solve these two problems, you will now have a variable in code that knows what key was touched. There’s some more software wrangling to allow polyphony!