Pick and Place automatic feeders controller

See this post by me first to get some background on this project: Designing motherboard for PNP auto feeders? - Page 1

I am new to Arduino so I am wondering how feasible is this and can it be done with just Arduino code or do I need C/C++? I was thinking of using Arduino Mega 2560 as explained in that post due to the large number of pins and have it communicate with OpenPNP software: openpnp.org using Gcode to activate individual #Z feeder to advance X distance at Y speed.

Where should I get started? My coding skills are beginner, but at the same time, if I am learning Arduino, I would prefer to know the direction or topics I should focus on so I don’t try and cover too much territory at once, but rather learn with examples that relate to this application.

Any suggestions on how I should go about making/programming this?

Arduino code is C++.

Do you have a good design for the hardware already?

Don't expect people to try to follow two different conversations on different websites. Please put all the info here that is relevant to any advice you want from this Forum.

You have not told us what you want your Arduino Mega to control - without knowing that it is hard to see how we can help.

And you have not told us what the OpenPNP software will do and what are the relative roles of it and of the Mega.

...R

My apologies for linking an external thread. I can explain.

OpenPNP uses Gcode to drive the feeders. The motherboard of the feeders would need to receive the Gcode, parse it and activate a specific feeder # to pull the cover tape off until the tape advances x mm distance. Distance feedback is provided via an encoder that has two springs, which short themselves when they touch a pad to signal the motherboard that the tape has advanced x pitch. See pic.

Any help on how I can go about programming this or direction would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!

shai: