Piezo triggered LED lights (mounted on an acoustic drum kit) HELP!

Hello there everyone,

I have been working on my final uni project which involves triggering LEDs from Piezo elements connected to a drum set (so each time I hit a drum an LED strip gets activated and deactivated).

I have been doing this on an Arduino Uno, a breadboard and have been using this code on LED testers at the moment, however, the lights don’t seem to be responding as consistently to the code as Id hope.

I am a complete beginner in coding and was recommended this arduino Knock! (https://www.arduino.cc/en/Tutorial/Knock). It seems to be triggering the LED tester ok, however when triggered once, the lights do not turn off for a couple of seconds and the serial print is printing hundreds of hits when I only tapped it once or sometimes I haven't even touched it at all.

I have amended the code with some guidance from people in another forum and below is the code I am currently using:

int knockSensor = 0;               

byte val = 0;

int statePin = LOW;

int THRESHOLD = 100;

void setup() {

pinMode(8, OUTPUT); 

Serial.begin(9600);

}

void loop() {

val = analogRead(knockSensor);     

if (val >= THRESHOLD) {

statePin = HIGH; //Change state to on
 digitalWrite(8, statePin); // set pin on
 delay(100); //wait 100 miliseconds
 Serial.println("Knock!"); // Write to serial.
 statePin = LOW; //Change state to Off
 digitalWrite(8, statePin); // set pin Off

}

delay(5);  // we have to make a delay to avoid overloading the serial port

}

The lights are reacting to each tap a little better however it is still quite temperamental. I have set the delay to really low and the threshold to 100 as this seems to be where it is most responsive.