Pin isolation...

So, I am a total newbie when it comes to working with any language other that html. Plus, I just bought by first Deumilanove today, so this is the first time I’ve really sat down with the Arduino language. So, the logic of it makes sense to me. I can find my way about and see (kind of) what is doing what. But I’m totally unfamiliar with the commands and the syntax and actually writing anything that actually works. As such, I have the following problem: I started from the basic Blink tutorial and managed to succeed in getting a single led to blink from pin 13. Then I added in a couple of lines to add in a second led off pin 12. I want to be able to have each pin blink individually and at different rates, with the ultimate aim of having a full array of leds blinking separately. How, then, do I isolate each pin within the code and set its parameters individually?

Here’s what I’ve got so far…

int ledPin = 13;
int ledPin2 = 12;
int value = LOW;
long previousMillis = 0;
long interval = 1000;

void setup()
{
pinMode(ledPin, OUTPUT);
pinMode(ledPin2, OUTPUT);

}

void loop()
{

if (millis() - previousMillis > interval) {
previousMillis = millis();

if (value == LOW)
value = HIGH;
else
value = LOW;

digitalWrite(ledPin, value);
digitalWrite(ledPin2, value);
}
}

The lines in red are the ones I’ve added. I’ve seen a couple of people using ‘for’ commands, but I’m not sure how those work exactly.

Another question along the same lines is: how would I set the init value for pin 12 as HIGH? I tried to insert a an init value2 and just copy the rest of the code (inserting value2 where appropriate), but it didn’t seem to like that very much.

Any help would be much appreciated.

Does this do as described?
[UNTESTED CODE]

const unsigned int INTERVAL1 = 1000;//this is a constant and can not be assigned a new value
const unsigned int INTERVAL2 = 1000;//this is a constant and can not be assigned a new value

int ledPin1 = 13; //LED connected to pin 13