PIR digital read to LED digital write, problem

high guys. I’m new to programming, I have two PIR sensors, I want a green led to activate with one PIR active and a red LED to activate with both PIR’s active… if somebody could help me a little that would be sweet. THANKS

int PIRa = 3; // PIR sensor 1
int PIRb = 4; // PIR sensor 2
int LEDg = 7; // Green LED
int LEDr = 8; // Red LED

int PIRvalueA;
int PIRvalueB;

void setup() {
  // put your setup code here, to run once:

// to show LED's work
  pinMode(LEDg,OUTPUT);
  pinMode(LEDr,OUTPUT);

digitalWrite(LEDg,HIGH);
  delay(1000);
  digitalWrite(LEDg,LOW);
  delay(500);
  digitalWrite(LEDr,HIGH);
  delay(1000);
  digitalWrite(LEDr,LOW);

}

void loop() {
  // put your main code here, to run repeatedly:
  pinMode(PIRa,INPUT);
  pinMode(PIRb,INPUT);
  pinMode(LEDg,OUTPUT);
  pinMode(LEDr,OUTPUT);

if  (digitalRead,PIRa==HIGH || digitalRead,PIRb==HIGH) // if one or the other PIR active 
  {  
      digitalWrite(LEDg,HIGH);
      delay(1500);
  }

if (digitalRead,PIRa==HIGH && digitalRead,PIRb==HIGH) // if both PIR's are active
  {
    digitalWrite(LEDr,HIGH);
    delay(1500);
  }

}

All you really need to do is look up the correct syntax for digitalRead() in the learning/reference page.

You are forgiven for not mentioning that it won't compile without errors - this time. :slight_smile:

If you look in the IDE under "Examples" you'll see a bunch of useful worked .... examples.

ok thanks, i'll give them a look.

it didn't give me any error codes at all.

also can any one suggest a good coarse/class for learning coding? C and C++

as a newbie to programming it would help a lot.

The examples of the IDE are a very good starting point :slight_smile:

@aarg, it does indeed compile. It's indeed weird but valid code using a function pointer in the comma operator :stuck_out_tongue:

Why are you calling pinMode in loop? Set the pin modes in setup and leave them be. It doesn't need to happen over and over. Once is enough.