Planning to buy a new Arduino, HELP needed.

Hi all, I am new to the Arduino Community and since the past two weeks I have been going through different blogs and books to get started and be clear with my basics. And now that I have got the basic Idea about how the programming Part works, i've decided to get my self an Arduino Board. I Have short listed my Self two Boards That is Arduino Mega 2560 R3 and Arduino ADK. My basic Idea is that I would like to do more things in Wireless Home Automation and ive seen few videos on net regarding Using them with an Android Fone. So I would like to ask is:

1) What is the main Advantage of an ADK over a Mega?? And which board is better to buy in the longer run?

(Like I know that an ADK allows Android Device to be connected in accessory mode, but practically what is the Use of it?)

2) I would also like to ask, if I purchase a Mega 2560, Will I be able to make any wireless connections with an Android Fone (or iPhone) over the internet?? (like without the need of an Ethernet shield and by using a normal USB cable and computer internet.)

It would be very helpful if someone would spend few mins and explain this to me. Thankx in Advance :)

mehtaatur: 1) What is the main Advantage of an ADK over a Mega?? And which board is better to buy in the longer run?

"Better" is a lousy term in hobby engineering projects. The answer to a "which is better" question always starts with the answer "it depends on...". In this case the ADK is a Mega2560. The only difference is the ADK has a built-in USB Host Controller. So the Arduino ADK has the ability to act as a USB host (and not just be a USB device.)

The answer to your "better" question is... "if depends on if you want to connect an Android or other USB device to your Arduino." (Keep in mind, there are limited drivers, so you can't usually just hook up any USB device without writing significant amounts of code.)