Plasma cutter - controlling height above cut workpiece - need help with code

Hello everyone!

I got DTHC as my class project, class teacher thought ARDUINO might be suitable... So now, I'm struggling with code, and came here for help. This is part of program, which is responsible for incrementing and decrementing value for height above cutted workpiece. I'm sorry if I'm missing something, I'm new to programming...

To the problem - buttonUp should increment variable buttonHeight and buttonDown should decrement it. It's working, but with one exception - when it increments to 10 or to 1, it jumps for 2, instead of one. So it shows something like this:

height above workpiece = 1mm height above workpiece = 3mm //button up pushed once, have no idea why it's doing this height above workpiece = 2mm //button down pushed once, working normally ... ... //in the meantime, it's working as it should - button up increments, button down decrements... ... height above workpiece = 10mm height above workpiece = 8mm //button down pushed once height above workpiece = 9mm //button up pushed once

BTW, sorry for my English, I'm Czech and still learning... Thank you all, I will update on progress. :-)

Here goes the code:

/*DTHC - Digital Torch Height Control
  Řízení výšky plasmového hořáku pomocí procesoru ATMega328
  a vývojové desky ARDUINO
  David Straus MEA4, 2011
*/

const int voltagePin = A0;             
const int hallPin = A1;                 

const int ledUp = 11;                   
const int ledOk = 10;                  
const int ledDown = 8;                 
const int ledTest = 13;

const int buttonUp = 2;                 
const int buttonDown = 3;               

int buttonHeight = 0;                 

int buttonUpState = 0;                 
int buttonDownState = 0;              

int lastButtonUpState = LOW;             
int lastButtonDownState = LOW;          

int voltageSensor = 0;                  
int voltageValue = 0;