Playground Sketch Writes to Sound Chip Using Code I Don't Understand

Hi Everyone,

I am new to micro controller programming, but I have some software development experience. I am looking at the following tutorial and trying to figure out what each piece of the code is doing....

http://playground.arduino.cc/Main/AY38910

So far, I have been able to understand most of what is happening by doing web searches and reading the sound chip's manual. However, the following code is giving me trouble because I haven't been able to phrase a search that produces useful results...

void set_chA(int i)
{
  write_data(0x00, tp[i]&0xff);
  write_data(0x01, (tp[i] >> 8)&0x0f);    
}

So this function gets a musical note number from a song array. The first one is a "60" (which is normally middle C) Then, it looks in an array that stores the information on what value the sound chip needs to produce that note. In the case of "60" that value is "478." Then, I don't understand what is happening with the "&0xff" or the (tp >> 8 )&0x0f) The processor is looking for an 8 bit value for fine pitch tuning in the first "write_data" and a 4 bit value for coarse pitch tuning in the second. I have been searching through C syntax references and I have seen that the "&" is usually a pointer, but I can't figure out how it is working here. 0xff would be the maximum number of 8 bit combinations and 0x0f would be the maximum for 4, right? Is that somehow significant or is that a coincidence? Thanks.

MoZI: So far, I have been able to understand most of what is happening by doing web searches and reading the sound chip's manual. However, the following code is giving me trouble because I haven't been able to phrase a search that produces useful results...

void set_chA(int i)
{
  write_data(0x00, tp[i]&0xff);
  write_data(0x01, (tp[i] >> 8)&0x0f);    
}