Playing sounds for a model railway

Hi

I am a complete newbie at this so please forgive my ignorance. I have some programming knowledge, though not in arduino, and virtually no electronics knowledge. However, a friend of mine has asked me to help with the programming side of setting up an arduino (it's actually a clone I believe) to operate the sounds on his model railway. He has good electronics knowledge.

The problem is, we are completely unable to get sounds out of the board. I have used sketch to upload the code to the board, which appears upload ok. When I click to upload the board flashes and I get no error messages. However I do get a series of warnings. When we press the switches on the circuit which are supposed to play the sounds nothing happens. Assuming the electronics on the breadboard are all wired up correctly, is there anything I am doing with the software that would cause this not to work. The breadboard is wired-up up with the Arduino and an SD card storing the sounds in WAV format. We have tried different formats for the WAV sounds, but to no avail.

Here is the code I am using:

#include <SD.h> // need to include the SD library
#define SD_ChipSelectPin 4 //using digital pin 4 on arduino nano 328
#include <TMRpcm.h> // also need to include this library...

TMRpcm tmrpcm; // create an object for use in this sketch
int SW1;
int SW2;
int SW3;
int SW4;
void setup(){
pinMode(14,INPUT); //Define A0 as digital input.
pinMode(15,INPUT); //Define A1 as digital input.
pinMode(16,INPUT); //Define A2 as digital input.
pinMode(17,INPUT); //Define A3 as digital input.

tmrpcm.speakerPin = 9; //11 on Mega, 9 on Uno, Nano, etc

if (!SD.begin(SD_ChipSelectPin)) { // see if the card is present and can be initialized:
return; // don't do anything more if not
}
tmrpcm.volume(1);
tmrpcm.play("1.wav"); //the sound file "1" will play each time the arduino powers up, or is reset
}

void loop(){
SW1=digitalRead(14);
SW2=digitalRead(15);
SW3=digitalRead(16);