Pleas explain -

Hi all

I am new to embedded and I would like to really understand the following debugging terms : 1> SIMULATOR 2> EMULATOR 3> IN CIRCUIT EMULATOR

What are the differences between them ? What are the basics of the functionality of each ?

Thanks elico

An emulator allows using somethingA on somethingB that is not specifically designed/intended for SomethingB, the emulator 'emulates' the functionality of SomethingA

A simulator will try and create/predict some kind of scenario/behaviour based on constants and variables that define an environment/working paramaters.

An in circuit emulator I dunno much about so I read this http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/In-circuit_emulator

A "simulator" is usually a software-only thing that pretends to be some other device. An "arduino simulator" might run as a windows app, throw up a picture of an Arduino on your screen, let you attach simulated "devices" to the simulated "pins", load a sketch, and somehow see what it was doing and whether it worked.

An "in circuit emulator" is usually a mixed hardware/software device that somehow communicates with an actual circuit built around some chip, and creates all of the hardware signals that the actual chip would create, allowing you the same sort of visibility insider the operation of your program as a simulator, but with "live" hardware instead of simulated hardware.

IMO, "emulator" is ambiguous, and might be used to mean either one of the above.

The only slight meaning difference between emulator and simulator is that emulator implies real-time performance - you can plug in an emulator to replace the thing it emulates. A simulator might not be fast enough - used for testing logical behaviour but not "live"...

For instance SPICE is a circuit simulator, but it doesn't run in real time or anything like. An in-circuit emulator obviously isn't useful if it doesn't work live in real time in the circuit in question...