Pleas help. struggling using VL53L0x time of filght sensor.

Hello, I’m still pretty new to Arduino and I have programed a VL530X time of flight sensor to tell when and object moves and display it on a IC2 1602 LCD display. The problem is I want to display “0” until the object moves and then just display the distance that is moved. I also want to then push a button to reset the display back to “0” until it moves again. I cant seem to figure out how to compare a previous value to a current value. I’ve been at it for days, watching youtube videos and searching google. If anyone can offer assistance I would greatly appreciate it. When I upload the code it just stays at “0cm” . I will attach the code. I think my issue is with how im running the sensor continuously and the current and previous values are never actually different.

Thank You!
Dave

#include <VL53L0X.h>

#include <Wire.h>

VL53L0X sensor;

#include <LiquidCrystal_I2C.h>
// Set the LCD address to 0x27 for a 16 chars and 2 line display
LiquidCrystal_I2C lcd(0x27, 16, 2);

const int type = 2;// 1=mm , 2= cm
String unit;// variable for unit, mm or cm

void setup()
{

Serial.begin(9600);
  Wire.begin();

sensor.init();
  sensor.setTimeout(500);

// initialize the LCD, 
  lcd.init();
  // Turn on the blacklight and print a message.
  lcd.backlight(); 
}

void loop()
{
  int distance =sensor.readRangeContinuousMillimeters();
  //int distance =sensor.startContinuous(100);

int distanceCM = (int) (distance/10.0);
  int fault_lite = 2; // distande changed
  int Reset_but = 3; // button to reset display distance to zero
  int But_state = 0;
  int Display_dis; // variable to print to lcd
  int current_dis; //current distance reading of VL53L0x
  int previous_dis;  //privious reading of VL53L0x
  int differance_CM; //differance between current and previous readings 

//distance = distance;
  Serial.print("Distance: ");

//Set up LCD Screen
  lcd.clear();
  lcd.print("Void Detector");