Please help debug stepper motor code issue

Hello every one, I am very new to this and was hoping I could get some help/advice.

I have a school project requiring me to control 2 stepper motors. I am starting out small trying to control just one motor. For now the plan is to push a button, have the motor move one full revolution, then pause and move another full revolution in the other direction and then stop.

I am using an Arduino UNO, an Easydriver and a NEMA17 motor.

I have the push button working. I was able to the motor to turn and then stop. I am able to get the motor to turn, pause, change direction. Here is where my problem start. Instead of stopping, the program loops back the delay and continues running. I thought it wold stop, not loop back.

Another interesting issue, no matter what I make DISTANCE2, it only runs whatever is in DISTANCE1.

Thank you in advance, here is my code

#define DISTANCE1 1600      // distance for 1st travel
#define DISTANCE2 1600      // distance for 2nd travel

//1600 steps per revalution
int StepCounter = 0;
int Stepping = false;

void setup() {               

pinMode(8, OUTPUT);        // pin 8 controles dirction
  pinMode(9, OUTPUT);         // pin 9 controles steps
  digitalWrite(8, LOW);
  digitalWrite(9, LOW);

pinMode(3,INPUT_PULLUP);    // Creates push button

Serial.begin(9600);         // Alows serial monitoring
}

void loop() {
  {
    Serial.println(StepCounter);

}

if (digitalRead(3) == LOW && Stepping == false)   // Push button to start Program
  {
    Stepping = true;
  }

if (Stepping == true)
  {
    digitalWrite(9, HIGH);          // Run motor
    delay(1);         
    digitalWrite(9, LOW);
    delay(1);

StepCounter = StepCounter + 1;

if (StepCounter == DISTANCE1)   // Distance to stop at
      {
        StepCounter = 0;            // Reset counter to 0
        //Stepping = false;         // stops program, when activated motor stops 

delay(5000);              // Pause 5 seconds