please help designer

Hi there, i am absolutely new to Arduino and don't understand much in technical things (but fascinated :)). I am a designer preparing proposal and i need an advice from the people who are smart in this field. I run into Arduino researching different gadgets and it seems to be an amazing starting point that can do a lot of things.. So i decided to ask a few questions here..Hope you don't mind..

My brief is to find engaging and natural way to make people aware of their energy consumption in domestic environment.

At the moment there are many "smart meter" solutions on the market; they are monitoring your energy consumption for the whole house in real time and could include some features like being wireless, displaying your usage in money or even have an desktop application for profiling. The problem is that people don't really use them permanently and it demands some effort if you really want to find out energy consumption for the particular appliance.

Now.. i really would appreciate if you guys could help me with my idea.. in terms.. is it possible at all and if yes that are the ways to implement and develop such system? That components it would require? Is it possible to build something like that on the Arduino bases? How does it look like from the hardware point of view since the displays should be aesthetically appealing? From energy consumption and price points? Would it be a good idea to have it as participatory project? Please feel free to criticize or add something new :) Thanks a lot,

Nicole