Please Help, I'm a rookie :-/

I am a complete novice at writing my own sketches, although I have modified some in the past. I am simply wanting to start a stepper motor with a push button, have it run at a designated speed until it reaches an optical end stop, and then run at a slower designated speed until it reaches a second optical end stop. at which point the program stops/resets, until I pushed the button again. this is for a balance beam scale.

Thanks in advance for anyone who can help me, or point me in the right direction for something to reference.

There are three parts to the project - getting the right hardware, wiring it up correctly, and writing the code.

What part(s) are you stuck on?

Writing the code involves reading a switch, and determining that it has BECOME pressed. If it has, start the sequence of events.

Moving the stepper motor is easy. Step. Step. Step. ...

Detecting that an optical sensor is, or is not, blocked is easy.

This would be some good code. I didn’t debug it so I don’t know how good it is but as long as you have it wired right this should work. I am currently working with something similar.

int button = 0; //Sets pin 0 to be called button.
int motor = 10; //Sets pin 10 to be called motor.

void setup() {
pinMode(button, INPUT);
pinMode(motor, OUTPUT);
}

void loop() {
if (digitalRead(button) == HIGH) {
digitalWrite(motor,HIGH);
}
else if (digitalRead(button) == LOW) {
digitalWrite(motor, LOW);
}

}

int button = 0; //Sets pin 0 to be called button.

Using the serial pins for switches makes debugging all that more difficult.

And, if you've read the pin once, and it isn't HIGH, there's no point in reading it again to see if it is LOW

Thanks guys. I will try some of these tips as soon as I get time. You’re help is very much appreciated!

where in the sketch would I specify the speeds that I would like to run? until first optical switch is made, and then until the second is made?

thanks again for your help everyone.