Please help me, I am new to Arduino

Hi, This is my first post on this forum and i hope i posted this question in the correct section.
I recently discovered Arduino and have been playing with the Sparkfun inventors kit to get started.
I have familiarized myself with all of the included Arduino projects and i would now like to make an engine sensor simulator so i can bench test engine ECUs.
I need a simulator which will output a square wave signal to represent the crankshaft sensor. E.g. 60 teeth per revolution and 2 missing teeth for reference point. I also need to produce another square wave to represent the camshaft signal at half the speed of the crankshaft. I must be able to adjust the synchronisation of the signals 'against each other' to suit different car's computers. Another variant is that the crankshaft signal would have to be analog (as from a pulse generator which is also detecting teeth on a crankshaft sensor wheel with 2 teeth missing).
I know how to write the code to produce a simple square waveform and change (engine speed) but i'm not sure how to simulate the missing teeth.
I would be very grateful if anyone can help me as, like I said, i am new to this.

Thanks, Kooky :slight_smile:

I know how to write the code to produce a simple square waveform and change (engine speed) but i'm not sure how to simulate the missing teeth.

How are you generating this square wave?

The missing teeth would just not have the LOW to HIGH and HIGH to LOW transitions at appropriate times.

In other words, 58 times you do a "LOW to HIGH transition, wait a bit, HIGH to LOW transition, and wait a bit" cycle. Then, you do two "wait a bit, wait a bit" cycles (that don't have the LOW to HIGH and HIGH to LOW transitions).