Please Help!!! Using a Rotary Phone for Password Input

Hello all. I am fairly new to Arduino. I have completed the starter kit, but still struggle with understanding some of the coding for the more in-depth projects. To say I am ignorant in coding would be an understatement, as my background is more business (finance/accounting) associated. So I coming here, asking everyone for help.

I am working on a project which would, in essence, turn an old rotary phone dial into a keypad for entering a multi-digit password. I have scoured the web trying to find any help I can get and have found a good bit of info up to a point. But, my timeframe window is beginning to narrow, now. What I have been able to do so far is: 1) have the serial monitor be able to read what numbers I am dialing, and 2) have an LED light turn on when I dial a single number (like dialing “4”) and turn off when I dial any other number. The code for the latter is below.

What I am asking (more begging) for help with is how to adapt this to have the LED turn on when I dial a specific sequence of number, like a passcode, (i.e. “1, 2, 3, 4”). Any other numbers dialed would results in nothing happening at all. Also, I need the serial.print to only begin when the phone is taken off the receiver. And, if you made a mistake in dialing the passcode, you would reset it by putting the phone back on the receiver (much like what the phone was built to do).

Thank you so much in advance for your help. If I can get this to work, I would be greatly appreciative.

Here’s what I have found so far:

int needToPrint = 0;
int count;
int in = 2;
int lastState = LOW;
int trueState = LOW;
long lastStateChangeTime = 0;
int cleared = 0;

// constants

int dialHasFinishedRotatingAfterMs = 100;
int debounceDelay = 10;

void setup()
{
Serial.begin(9600);
pinMode(in, INPUT);
pinMode(13,OUTPUT);
}

void loop()
{
int reading = digitalRead(in);

if ((millis() - lastStateChangeTime) > dialHasFinishedRotatingAfterMs) {