Please help with IOT/esp8266 connection

Hello, I am very sorry to ask such a simple question but I am very lost and worried. I want an arduino code for an esp8266-01 that when a pin is read high it sends a signal to a nodemcu module that then outputs another pin high. I can not find any examples of these online and I am very new to IOT and the ESP modules, so if you could please link me to example code or a forum that has it that would be incredible. I have been working on this project as one of my introductory and have been stumped for at least two months and I just got a breakthrough on it and I really hope I can make this work
Thank you so much and sorry for a really dumb question

joshawatt:
code for an esp8266-01 that when a pin is read high it sends a signal to a nodemcu module

This sounds like nonsense. The Node MCU is a version of ESP8266, so what exactly are you trying to do?

As for the IOT connection, the best example should be from the IOT provider - one that specificalkly offers Arduino code…

the server connection would be the nodemcu board and it would wait for a signal sent by the esp8266-01 board (which it sends when it reads a high signal on one of its IO pins), I hope that clears things up for you, and do you think you could explain what you mean a little more, I am very sorry I am just really new to IOT, if it is any help I want something like this http://randomnerdtutorials.com/how-to-make-two-esp8266-talk/ but instead of nodemcu arduino and instead of outputting on the serial monitor outputting on a digital pin
Thanks, and I hope this helps sorry again for such a basic question

sorry again for such a basic question

We all learn, and I think

am just really new to IOT,

may be the problem - possibly even just a matter of proper nomenclature rather than technobabble.

I think you imply this:

signal-------->ESP8266-01------------->Node-MCU------------->router-------------------->IoT facility