Please Help with struct code to create PORT pin names

typedef struct {
unsigned bbit0 : 1, bbit1 : 1, bbit2 : 1, bbit3 : 1, bbit4 : 1, bbit5 : 1, bbit6 : 1, bbit7 : 1;
}IOREG;
#define PORTB(*(IOREG *) 0x05)

/*

I am using AVR Studio 5.0 to program a AtMega2560 prototype board.

I am attempting to assign PORT bit names to a port so that I can individually manipulate bits of a PORT
with each bit having a simple and obvious name.
If this worked I was hoping I could write code as easy as:

PORTB.bbit1=0; //bit 0 of PORTB reset
PORTB.bbit7=1; //bit 7 of PORTB set

Alas, I don’t know how to create the union or a class to do this correctly. I am new to C# or C++
(as in the above code that does yields an error when the #define statement above is encountered. Error generated: * cannot appear in macro parameter list

I got this idea from C-Language guide AVR_3_04(6).pdf (found this on by Googling for C compilers)

That IOREG keyword? Where did you get that from?

also, PORTB is already defined... you'd probably have to leave some of the includes out. Have you checked in the AVRStudio examples if there is something like it?

How is AVRStudio 5.0? Nice?