Please please help me I've spent all night trying to make Arduino UNO work ;(

Hi Guys i am a complete noob with electronics like this, i have been reading about a project on a forum and I am trying to replicate it so I have purchased all the components and fallen at the very first hurdle getting the basics to work , and I have no idea what I’m doing wrong.

I run a MAC with OS 10.9.3 I have downloaded the software form the web site and following the getting started guide, BUT when I go to select Serial Port I don’t have the USB named ones from the guide, I have downloaded the drivers FTDIUSBSerial Driver 10_4 restarted the MAC and nothing. I only have 4 listed all Bluetooth 2 Incoming and 2 Modem without this USB one I am unable to load the code and get the basic flashing led program working , (hitting head on desk)

Hardware Arduino Uno and Arduino motor shield all purchased today so latest models I guess.

Edit - I have looked at troubleshooting and checked firewall and it’s off so it’s not that stopping the USB form working, I have a full on music studio all connecting via USB from my iMac so I know they all work as I’m swapping things around a lot.

Please help me as it can’t be this hard to simply plug in a usb card and send it code, the error message received below and I have tired to upload a pic below to show you what I can see

avrdude: Version 5.11, compiled on Sep 2 2011 at 18:52:52
Copyright (c) 2000-2005 Brian Dean, http://www.bdmicro.com/
Copyright (c) 2007-2009 Joerg Wunsch

System wide configuration file is “/Users/richardwalton/Downloads/Arduino-2.app/Contents/Resources/Java/hardware/tools/avr/etc/avrdude.conf”
User configuration file is “/Users/richardwalton/.avrduderc”
User configuration file does not exist or is not a regular file, skipping

Using Port : /dev/tty.Bluetooth-Incoming-Port
Using Programmer : arduino
Overriding Baud Rate : 115200
avrdude: Send: 0 [30] [20]
avrdude: ser_recv(): programmer is not responding