Plz help with math

Hello All

Its my first time to get in forum: I am stuck in a simple math, (i am beginner)

I managed to make a ds1307 clock with predefined on and off time for water pump. Problem is that when it checks with predfined time, motor does on with minutes and hour but if hour is more than or less than current time, it does not on motor.

eg; current time: 3:15

on time: 3:10; off time 3:54

MOTOR ON (stays one between on and off time when it reaches)

if it is : current time: 3:15
on time 3:10; off time 4:05

MOTOR OFF(does not ON between on and off time when it reaches)

problem is here

//-----------relay------
void relay(){
DateTime now = rtc.now();
** if (((now.minute()>=mmm)&&(now.minute()<=(offmmm-1)))&&((now.hour()>=hhh)&&(now.hour()<=(offhhh))))**
{Serial.print("\t MOTOR ON "); digitalWrite(13,HIGH);lcd.setCursor(0,1);motor=1;}
else {digitalWrite(13,LOW); motor=0;
}

complete_donewithLCD.ino (9.5 KB)

RTClib.cpp (9.17 KB)

RTClib.h (2.93 KB)

pitches.h (1.96 KB)

The way I’d be inclined to tackle this is to first create a function that combines Hours and minutes into a single value like so

int totalMins(int Hours,int Mins)
{
return Hours*60 + Mins;
}

Then within my loop function I’d convert the dueOn, dueOff, and current times into integers, using this method.

Then it’s a simple matter to determine that the current time is within the specified time.
ie

void loop()
{
int dueOn=totalMins(3,10);
int dueOff=totalMins(3,15);
int current=totalMins(now.hour,now.minute);

if((current>=dueOn)&&(current<=dueOff))
 {Serial.print("\t MOTOR ON  "); 
  digitalWrite(13,HIGH);
  lcd.setCursor(0,1);motor=1;
  }
  else {digitalWrite(13,LOW); motor=0;
 } 
}

+1 for KenF method

one small remark: the off time should not be included

if ( (current >= dueOn ) && (current < dueOff ) ) // CHANGED <= TO <

robtillaart:
+1 for KenF method

one small remark: the off time should not be included

Yep, that would be slightly more accurate. :blush: