pneumatic small scale factory using arduino questions

hi, I am not native English, sorry if my English is bad,
I have some project for my friend,
he has some small-scale factory for making metal cabinets, lockers, or something like that,
he asks me as a programmer to make some pneumatic robot,
my specialty is web programmer, and that is years ago,
but I have zero experience with electronics thing like : robot, resistor, transformer, transistor, etc.

note :
-it an only small conversation with my friend, so except for pneumatic that he show to me (the real thing), I am do not yet buy the arduino and their parts.
-his place is quite far from the city so often to have a blackout or power outage from the electrical company, so I will 12-volt car battery as the power resource

I have some research on this project and found some question :

1. will it safe if I use the 12-volt car battery as power resource?
  2. will it safe if I put 12-volt valve Electric Pneumatic to arduino?
  3. is there any sensor set to put on pneumatic that indicating if the pneumatic has reached full length and return length?
  4. number of pneumatic is quite a lot, let said it will contain :
    a.10 pneumatic (10 digital cable slot + 1 ground),
    b.10 sensor of full length sensor (10 digital cable slot + 1 ground[it will be combine with ground at point a.]),
    c.10 sensor of full return sensor (10 digital cable slot + 1 ground[it will be combine with ground at point a.and b.]),
    can arduino handle it?

for this time I only found this problem,
if you have the answer(s), tip(s), trick(s), thing(s) to avoid, tutorial link(s), or something like that, please tell me, I will very appreciate it.
thank you.

Kucingmiow:

1. will it safe if I use the 12-volt car battery as power resource?