PoE with Arduino

Is it posible to use PoE switches to give power supply to arduino with ethernet interface? Regards.

No. PoE modules tend to be large and expensive (more expensive than the arduino), and tend to be focused on providing enough power for relatively large devices like an IP phone.

I did find these folks http://www.silvertel.com/poe_products.htm who have some 5 to 10W 5V supplies at under $15 each. Watch out for the lack of isolation on the cheaper modules, though :-(

Nope. That is not supported on the ethernet shield.

PoE (standard PoE, anyway) offers a relatively high DC voltage of 48V; that's over the limit for a standard Arduino regulator.

-j

It is apparently possible to buy or make small devices that fit between two non-POE devices and enable POE between the two devices but not to the devices. Essentially they inject and then remove the power from the line and then feed it into the normal power input on the target device.

I have no experience with such things though.

–Phil.

Follower said it right, there are power injectors that runs on Cat5 cables. They are used for Hiperlan antennas which allows to run only one cable for data and power to the antenna (which is an active device). Have a look on these http://eidusa.com/Electronics_Kits_PoE_injector.htm

My impression was that the original poster already had an Ethernet Switch that PROVIDED PoE, and was looking for the Arduino ethernet to be able to USE that power...

well, I am trying ti do a domotic installation including arduinos in each room to control, windows, temperature, light and so on. I am interconecting all of them trought a switch. My idea is minimize the wiring and avoiding install a small power supply for each arduino. I am activating signals for air conditioner or big loads thru a solid stage relays. I will read write in the diferent arduinos thru ethernet, and a tablet pc will have the main domotic program Regards.

Hi comander,