Point me to timer tutorial and examples

I am a newb who has read many tutorials, did the Hello World LED example, and have the board driving multiple servos. I have been unsuccessful finding examples of using timer interrupts. I am not looking for someone to write code, just lead me to where it is explained.

The tutorials I have found so far have not included timers.

And just for a sanity check, my intention is to have one function calculate the values for each servo and then wait. Another function, fired off by the timer, will push the calculated values to the servos, and then clear the wait state for the first function.

Does this make sense?

Thanks, Vince

Does this make sense?

Not when there are perfectly good servo libraries, no, not really.

Hi AWOL, Thanks for replying. :) I am using the servo library to write values to the servos.

What I want is to write a newly calculated set of values for every frame that is sent to the servo.

I could just constantly calculate the desired servo values and push them out many times per frame, but I had hoped to do this once per servo refresh period, and leave the CPU open for other tasks.

My first thought is to use a timer interrupt with the period set to the same as the servo refresh rate, and have the calculations and the servo writes in a function triggered by the timer interrupt. Is there some construct in the servo library that will allow me to fire a function each time a servo refresh signal is sent?

Why not just slow the calculation to, say once every 10ms? Alternatively, mod the servo library to add the function you need - if there is already a timer firing at the required frequency, why invent a new one?

Groove, you gave me the right suggestion; mod the servo library.

I created a function calculations_each_frame(). I put a prototype near the top of servo.h

void calculations_each_frame();

And I call my function near the end of handle_interupts