Pololu DRV8825 and Arduino

Hello everyone, complete and total newbie here, so please be kind to my ignorance.

I really know next to nothing about Arduino, but I am very keen to learn, but I also have very limited time to complete this quick project.

[u]Overview:[/u]

I've got a ye'olde Vixen Polaris telescope mount that I've inherited from my grand dad, still in very good condition, and I want to motorize the RA-axis to be able to take some wide-field shots of the night sky when I go to a remote part of the Drakensberg in South Africa in a week's time.

I've done all the math and leg-work, but now comes the execution, which is the tricky part for me. I've found this thread that is quite helpful so far: http://forum.arduino.cc/index.php?topic=197943.0, but not really, as I don't know what I'm doing.

[u]Equipment:[/u]

Arduino UNO Pololu DRV8825 Stepper Motor Driver Wantai Stepper Motor 57BYGH420-4

[u]What I need it to do:[/u]

The telescope mount makes six rotations per hour of travel, thus I need the stepper motor to do the same, as smoothly as possible. The stepper makes 200 steps per revolution (1.8 degree steps), thus I need 1200 steps per hour, 20 steps per minute, 0.333 steps per second, and finally, one step every three seconds. Obviously I would like to improve that by using the microstep functionality to get more frequent steps. That's the rotation sorted out.

Then I need three buttons as well:

1) Stop/Start at the determined step speed to compensate for the earth's rotation (eg. Six/Hour) 2) Reverse (Is it possible to program it, that if it's pressed down, it starts slowly, then accelerates up to a certain fast speed?) 2) Forward (Is it possible to program it, that if it's pressed down, it starts slowly, then accelerates up to a certain fast speed?)