PongSat build

Hello,

I have will sending a PingPong Ball on PongSat mission and have decided use the Arduino Pro Mini 5V.

I am hoping to be able to the log the following(on a micro sd card preferably):

• Temperature
  • Altitude
  • Velocity

What other parts/sensors should I pick up? This is my first project on a scale this small.

Thanks,
Tony

i took a look at that pongsat thing, and i’m interested :slight_smile:
just some off-topic questions:
is it possible for european students too?
where do they get sent of to space?

and now on topic:
how will you get the power? because a pingpong ball is very small, and batteries can be big
if you use a pressure sensor you can measure the pressure and calculate the altitude, that way you have two things at once :slight_smile:
i think you’ll have to push to get all this inside, i don’t think many more sensors will be possible

A PongSat is an experiment that fits inside of a ping pong ball.

You must have different sized ping pong balls than we do. No way a Pro Mini will fit in our ping pong balls. Even a microSD reader would be a tight fit. And the altitude sensor? No, I don't think so.

And, how will you power this device?

I think you'd be better off logging to a serial EEPROM rather than an SD card. It'll take up a lot less space and use a lot less power.

Pete

I've seen pages that suggest a pro mini would fit. Am I wrong?

Here is one: http://www.rustynailworkshop.com/Projects/Entries/2011/4/9_PongSat.html

I've seen pages that suggest a pro mini would fit. Am I wrong?

Sorry, I was thinking of the Nano, not the Pro Mini.

Steen: i took a look at that pongsat thing, and i'm interested :) just some off-topic questions: is it possible for european students too? where do they get sent of to space?