pool temperature monitoring

I have been wanting to build an arduino based project for a while now, and it looks like I finally found my first project. I need to monitor the temperature of my above ground pool, before and after the solar heater.

I was thinking about using the Goldline 10K thermistor sensors, since they seem to be made for this application and are relatively easy to mount. However, they also seem to be the hardest to interface, since they aren't linear.

I can't find much info about people using an Arduino based controller interfacing these type of sensors (remember, I am new to all of this), but also don't want to buy an expensive Datanab (plus I really want to get experience working with the arduino platform).

What hardware (i.e., which kit and add-ons) would you guys recommend to interface these probes? I basically want to monitor these temps, and spit them out via a serial port every minute or so.

I'd appreciate any input you might have :wink:

Rather than use thermistors which are a right royal pain in the backside to get sensible readings out of, I'd go for Maxim/Dallas DS1820/ DS18S20/DS18B20 digital thermometers and encapsulate them myself with potting compound in a suitable piece of tube. They are pretty easy to do in the TO-92 package and are very easy to hide.

You could go halfway Datanab and buy these http://datanab.com/sensors/1Wire_Potted.htm . They are DS18B20s ready encapsulated which will interface to an Arduinio without too much difficulty.

I was actually considering 1-wire devices, my main issue is how to install these (and are they rated to be in chlorinated water 24/7)? With the goldline sensor, you drill a hole in the PVC piping, and insert them. They have a gasket, and you 'clamp' it in place.

I found stainless steel versions of that 1-wire sensor on ebay, so I would definitely prefer to go the 1-wire route assuming it will last.