Port grayed out under tools port

Hi
I hope someone can help me with this. I am new to Arduino. I can't connect to my Arduino Uno. "Port" is grayed out under the tools tab in the IDE, COM and LTP ports do not show up in the device manager, and the Arduino does not show up anywhere else in the device manager. I have tried a number solutions advised on the Arduino troubleshooting section, but none have worked. The operating system on my laptop is windows 7, 64 bit. Is anyone able to help?
Cheers, Alex.

That means that there is no COM port to connect to - meaning drivers not installed correctly, or board itself not working. It's weird to get nothing.

Do you get any reaction when you plug in the board? (new hardware sound, etc?) Any unknown devices or other yellow triangles in device manager?

Try using a different USB port, particularly if it's plugged into a USB 3.0 port (those often have compatibility problems with non-USB-3.0 devices).

If you're getting nothing from it at all, that's definitely a bad sign for the board. Is it known working? does it work on other computers?

DrAzzy,

There is a response when I plug in the arduino. I get the new hardware sound and the blue busy windows circle spins for a short time. "USB device" with a yellow triangle icon next to it then appears on the "other device" tab in device manager. Same response from the other USB port available on my laptop.

The arduino board works on another computer, so it is not the board.

Cheers, Alex.

When you open device manager - what happens when you plug in the USB cable with the Arduino attached?
You might see a new device popping up but the devie will have a yellow triangle icon which indicates that there is no suitable driver installed.

Do you have a clone Arduino? In a lot of cases these clones come with a CH340 USB/serial chip on board. If so you have to download the latest CH340g driver, install it and you will be fine.