Position control of a stepper motor based on force feedback

I designed a simple two-finger robotic gripper using a stepper motor. Now I want to attach a three-axial force sensor on one gripper finger, and control the position of the stepper motor so that grip force can be controlled when an object is grasped. The analog output from the force sensor is voltage signal, which can be transferred to Newtons using the given relationship. I am considering using PID control. The Arduino continuously reads the force signal and calculates the target force based on tangential force and coefficient of friction. However, as I am new to all the stuff, especially programming, I do need help on how to write the code. I have learned a bit from some example codes, and written a (wrong) script myself. Can someone help me? Thanks a lot.

Stepper_Force_Control.ino (1.57 KB)

There is not much point setting the speed when using code like this. The speed will be determined by how often the second line is called.

myStepper.setSpeed(120);
    myStepper.step(1);
    delay(5);

And I don't see any attempt to use the stepper motor to manage the force.

In any case I don't understand how you propose to vary the force using a stepper motor. How many steps are there between the minimum and maximum force?

I think a better explanation of what you are trying to do would help.

What stepper motor and stepper motor driver are you using?

...R
Stepper Motor Basics
Simple Stepper Code