Position Tracking Concept - Low Power Use

Hi everyone, pretty new to the forums so I hope I've come to the right spot.

I've recently started an endeavour, which brought me across the arduino boards. I'm no electrician or micro-controller expert, but I do have programming experience. I live in South Africa where livestock theft is quite large. I'm trying to create a livestock tracking system that will interface with an online application, to alert farmers of this. At the same time, I want to build it into a sort of management system where farmers can track which cattle are in which area.

I don't need precise position tracking but more of an area indicator. ie. if a cow breaches the fence line, send a push notification. This brings me to my problem... I need to create a low power emitter that will be attached to a cow's ear tag. I was thinking something with a motion-generated recharger as opposed to micro solar panels. The emitter needs to be as cheap as possible since farmers can have over 5000 head of cattle at any given time.

Does anyone have any suggestions or alternative solutions for this?

I'm no cattle expert, so take my remarks in that context. :)

I'm inclined to recommend some sort of low-power, low-range transmitter which you could attach to each animal. For example, the JeeNode:

http://jeelabs.com/products/jeenode

Judging by another page I found, you might expect a couple of hundred meters range, depending on terrain. This should be good enough for detecting if the cattle is in the paddock, or has wandered off or been stolen.

I would have each one sleep most of the time, and at some interval you determine wake up and transmit a short message to a base station. You could put a serial number (cattle ID) into the EEPROM of each chip, so each one sends a different code.

To save power, have a long time between messages, if you want to catch rustlers in the act, maybe a shorter time (eg. 15 minutes?).