Possible problem using DS1307 RTC while using emonTx Arduino Shield

Good afternoon guys.

I'm fairly new to arduino, but for my work, I will need to use an arduino (I'm currently using arduino ETHERNET) and also an emonTx Arduino shield because I'll need to measure current inputs. Align with this I'll need to store my measures with the correct date, so I will also need a clock module of some sort in order to measure time and date. For what I've searched, I think I'll possibly go for the DS1307 RTC.

My question is, since the emonTx arduino shield uses the pins 1 to 4 for readings, and the DS1307 RTC uses pin 4 and 5 for readings also, isn't there going to be a conflict on the readings?

Thanks in advance for any help you guys can provide me.

Best regards, John.

Either remap the shields A4 pin to the A0 pin or use another Arduino type (Leonardo or Mega2560 are candidates) where the I2C pins are not mapped to the analog inputs.

Thanks for the quick answer :slight_smile:

As I said I'm fairly new to the arduino envoirment, but I noticed that the RTC I want uses two outputs called SCL e SDA, and that the arduino ETHERNET I use has two inputs with the same name.

So just to confirm, can´t I use those inputs instead of A4 and A5? After some research I've read that SCL and SDA are/were used for I2C, and that was previously done using the A4 and A5 pins.

Best regards, John.

So just to confirm, can´t I use those inputs instead of A4 and A5? After some research I've read that SCL and SDA are/were used for I2C, and that was previously done using the A4 and A5 pins.