Possible To Use Sub Shift Registers?

Hello Community, I was wondering if it's possible to run sub shift registers off another shift register? maybe using ShiftPWM I don't know. If it's possible but I'm only new to this kind of stuff so I'm not too sure if there is a way.

Sub shift registers?

If you mean daisy chain, then yes... basically the serial data fed in gets spit out to the second register and repeat for a 3rd register.

No I mean like attach several (sub) shift registers to the output pins of the first (primary) shift register.

Yes. of course it is possible but the question as always is- why?

What is it you hope to achieve? Cascading in this alternate fashion will not allow you to shift data any faster - nor will it be particularly slower. It will rearrange the data into a sort of "waterfall" as it is shifted or "raster" as it is finally latched. And you are actually wasting the first shift register as its outputs go to feed the others instead of being part of the final output.

Some of us are wondering what your secret (undisclosed) plan actually is. If for example, it is to light LEDs, then it is an inefficient and expensive way of doing it. Whether you choose the inexpensive eBay ones or the "full-price" version of each device, it is actually more economical in all ways to use MAX7219s (or actually, the HT1632) to drive LED arrays, even for RGB LEDs as you have previously mentioned - and there may be better options again.

since one bit get's shifted in & out bit by bit using the same clock....

Simply connect the first pin of the sub register along with the shared clock, it will processed on every bit in... or parrereled in with 8 bits... so question is which shift registers?

I just thought about this and it doesn't sound like a good idea. What I'm trying to do is light a lot, and I mean a lot of RGB LED using ShiftPWM but I checked the interrupt load on the calculator on the website and it is in the red. So what would this actually mean?