Pot and button servo control

Hey everybody looking for a little help with some code that I found that controls servos with joy sticks. It reads the analog values of the pots and moves the servos in 1 degree increments when the pot is above or below the set thresholds. The code works great but I am new to programming and the way the code is written is far to advanced for me. I’m looking for some help to break this code down into simple mans coding so I can add some push buttons that will write specific locations to the servos. The coding is done very effectively as you can see its just a little to hard for me to understand. Where I get lost is where byte is used I’ve done lots of googling and i cant seem to find out what it is used for. I’m not against learning the coding but I am on a deadline for this project so any help is appreciated.

#include <Servo.h>

#define mainArm 0
#define jib 1
#define bucket 2
#define slew 3

Servo servo[4];      //code used for attaching upto 4 servos

byte angle[4] = {90, 90, 90, 90};       // middle point for servo angle

byte potPin[4] = {A0, A1, A2, A3};  // input pins to attach your potentiometers
byte servoPin[4] = {7, 6, 10, 9};    // input pins to attach servos

void setup() {

Serial.begin(9600);
  Serial.println("Starting DiggerCode.ino");

for (byte n = 0; n < 4; n++) {
    servo[n].attach(servoPin[n]);
  }
}

void loop() {
  readPotentiometers();
  moveServos();
  delay(10);
}

void readPotentiometers() {
  int potVal;
    potVal = analogRead(potPin[n]);

if (potVal < 200) {         // dead zone for the joystick I used is 200 to 550.
      angle[n] += 1;
      if (angle[n] > 170) {
        angle[n] = 170;
      }
    }

if (potVal > 550) {         // deadzone upper value
      angle[n] -= 1;
      if (angle[n] < 10) {
        angle[n] = 10;
      }
    }

}
}

void moveServos() {
    servo[n].write(angle[n]);
  }
}

solidcon:
I'm not against learning the coding but I am on a deadline