Potential project: detecting lobsters in a trap

Hi all,

I'm investigating creating a device to detect if (and ideally how many, although this seems much more difficult) there are lobsters in a trap. The trap would be between 20-100 feet of saltwater, and potentially underwater for days at a time. The design I'm envisioning would involve a water proof container with motion / proximity sensors which would communicate via a thin wire to radio beacon attached to the floating buoy on the oceans surface. The buoy would then relay the information via radio waves to shore.

I'm very new to electrical engineering so I'm not sure where to begin. I could use help understanding the more difficult parts of the design, as well as types / brands of components to purchase and test with. I'd like to build a prototype for testing on land first with a simple Arduino - after this I'll likely seek out a more minimal circuit board if possible.

Thanks very much in advance,

Forrest

The buoy would then relay the information via radio waves to shore.

You could work on figuring this out first as it might be difficult.

I thought that might be the case. Any idea how difficult/type of equipment required is to transmit even a boolean value (on/off) several miles via radio waves (or another type of wave, but I'm guessing radio is best suited for this scenario).

I reckon the cost of making electronic equipment that can survive at sea would far out-weigh the value of the lobsters. It is hard to think of a harsher environment.

What about an underwater camera on the end of a long pole ?

...R

Could be a way to let others know i is time to raid your traps.

Robin2: I reckon the cost of making electronic equipment that can survive at sea would far out-weigh the value of the lobsters. It is hard to think of a harsher environment.

The critical word is "sealing".

There was a thread about crab traps a while back. crab trap monitor There may be information you can use.