POV Clock + LED multiplexer

Hello,

During the last few days, I was interested in the POV system (especially the clock that allows you to show text or image). So I'm currently thinking about making one.

Despite, I'm a hobbyist ! I'm just an IT student who understands the basis of Arduino. I only made some test stuffs with leds, LCD display, Humidity sensor, 220V relay, etc.

So, I've seen a lot of videos / articles about simple POV clocks. In general, the clock is made from more or less 16 leds.
But, I want to have more leds. Maybe something like 30/40 leds. Furthermore, I'd like them to be RGB.

Last point, but not the least, I want to be able to power the rotating part without contact. In fact, I don't want to be annoyed changing the battery all day...

So, here is my question : Is it possible ? What are the important point that I have to pay attention ?

For a POV system, the time is very important. I'm just afraid that the multiplexing part is too slow for the system...

Thank you in advance,

Zeblood

Zeblood:
For a POV system, the time is very important. I'm just afraid that the multiplexing part is too slow for the system...

You are correct. Multiplexing is out of the question - and NeoPixel RGB LEDs are probably impractical also.

Thank you for the response.

What can be possible so ? Is there any solution in order to get more than around 16 leds ?

Paul__B:
You are correct. Multiplexing is out of the question - and NeoPixel RGB LEDs are probably impractical also.

I wouldn't say multiplexing is out of the question. It depends what that means and what is being done and how it is being done.

Zeblood,
one thing you might want to consider is that you can do some spectacular displays with much less than 30/40 LEDs.
Google around for bicycle POV. There are many arduino projects out there and some of them have animations or even full color images.

There are also some new style LEDs that use SPI vs the NeoPixel signaling so they are much faster to update.