Power a camera

Hi,

I buy a WIFI camera that I want to use on a remote controlled car. Of course the car will be driven by an Arduino (Uno) !

The camera is powered by a simple micro USB wire. So 5V DC.

I think it will consume quite a lot of energy so I would like to turn it off sometime (when I don't use the car for instance).

It is my first project so I would like to know how you would do that. I plan to use a Relay as a switch between the 5V output of the arduino & the camera +, camera GND is linked to arduino GND. Is that good ?

Thanks

A relay is good but it can be heavy. Do you know what current it draws? You could use a P-channel FET or a PNP transistor to act as a top switch.

Just a note of caution before removing the power make sure that any output from the arduino to it is disabled to prevent the possibility of latch up. The best way to do this is to use the pinMode function to make any outputs into inputs. Restore the outputs after switching on the power.

Thanks for your quick answer. It is this camera, I don't know how munch it consume.

There is only a power plug, no other input/outputs.

Do you have examples of the circuits you mention ? As I said, It is my first project, I need simple solutions ;-)

For relay, I found cheap & ready to works boards. but it seems a bit overkill to me since it can works for 250V items...

Do you have examples of the circuits you mention

Top switch

It is the answer with the schematic attached. Your camera is the load, if necessary use a separate power supply.

You need to know the current so that you can see if the power supply and the transistor can handle it. If you don't know then measure it.

Hi,

Thanks a lot for your help, The schema is very simple ! :D

I might use a 9V to power the Arduino and a power bank (5v 1A usb) to power the camera with the switch you mention. I read that the 5V output of the Arduino is not that powerful to power loads... Is that right ?

Thanks