Power Controller/Circuit Breaker

Hi am I making a power controller/circuit breaker. One of the main tasks of the design is to be cost effective. Ive decided to use the arduino platform (since I am a beginner) and once the design is complete, but the atmega328 chip and etc and make it a standalone design. I am aware that the 128 is used within the Arduino Duemilanove, but I was wondering if I were to use a Mega board, which does not use the 128, would it stil lbe able to create a standalone version (with just the Arduino Mega 2560 chip)?

Aside from those questions above, I also want to ask about whether or not arduino seems suitable for my project. Essentially a source may be around 120V (AC) with a rated current of 15A in which any current larger, should cause the circuit to break (I assume I can use voltage regulators to regulate the voltage, and a current transformer to measure the current). For the voltage I assume I can use a ADC (e.g AD7041) to output the value of the of the voltage and somehow input that into the arduino and allow it to compare it to a reference value given (in which if the voltage or current go higher than the reference value, would cause the circuit break to trip). For this purpose, does the arduino seem like a suitable platform? I also would like to be able to send an alarm/notice to a host computer (connected to the arduino either wirelessly (zigbee) or through serial (rs232) ) that the circuit can been tripped. Any help regarding this would be awesome, as I’m very new to microcontrollers but would like the design to be as efficient and financially feasible (one of the project tasks) as possible.

This was made for your project it is called a Power Switch Tail 2 http://www.makershed.com/PowerSwitch_Tail_II_p/mkps01.htm

Arduino is fine for your project. The main items you need are a power control relay (you could use the Power Switch Tail 2) and a current sensor. I would recommend you try these: