Power mosfet

Hi! I’m planning to use my Arduino to control a power mosfet with Vds = 325V DC, Id= 5A. I am thinking about using an IRF840 power mosfet. I am new to using mosfets, so that is the reason for asking these questions. Anyway, is the IRF840 a good choice or should I use another mosfet? Do I need a driver for the mosfet?

In case of 325V you definitely want to use an optocoupler to drive a MOSFET. And you will need a relatively big heatsink.

I also like to add a bit of safety factor on the components. You’re pretty close to current limit because it will get HOT. Sorry can’t suggest anything. I spend a lot of time searching for the correct MOSFET for my own projects. It’s always a compromise between pricing on state resistance and several other factors. You will have to do your own search. What is it for. That’s a lot of power.

I'm building a 120V battery charger (10*12V batteries). My plan was to convert 230V AC to 325V DC, and then use a mosfet for regulating the charging voltage.

So before we look at driving the MosFet, lets look at the power rating required.

1) your supply is ~ 300V ( after rectification and filtering etc.)

2) your load is ~ 10 X ( 12V + 2.5 (charge voltage)) = 145V

2) Lets say you only charge at 2 Amps

The power in the MosFet will be: Pwr = volts X amps = (300 - 145 ) X 5 = 775 watts !! It won't work with only one MosFet, you will need a whole array with special cooling.

What you have is called a Linear regulator. It simply absorbs the power between you input and output. This is the least efficient (and least practical at these power ranges) of all the regulators.

What you will need is a switching regulator. These regulators turn on fully then off. they do this very fast and store energy in an inductor and a capacitor so your load does not see the full on and off voltages.