Power pump from arduino 5V

Hi,
I’m kind of new to this and are building a self watering system. I have a pump that operates from 3-6 volts. But the pins on the arduino can’t power the pump. By googling I found that using a mosfet and the arduinos 5v output might work. If I connect the pump to the 5V on the arduino the pump is working fine but on a HIGH output digital pin it don’t get sufficient power.

Would the setup of the attached sketch work? I will use a digital output pin to control the pump via a mosfet. Please let me know if I got i totally wrong.

waterpump.pdf (119 KB)

What is your power source? Is it 7v or is it 12v?

Do you know how much current the pump draws?

This is quite likely to burn out the 5v regulator on board the Arduino. It can't supply a lot of power and if the input is 12v then the power is even further reduced.

The best way to avoid this is to connect the positive side of the pump to the raw input power. Even though it's only a 6v pump, it's quite OK to connect it to 12v so long as your Arduino output is one of the PWM pins and you use analogWrite(128) as the fastest speed.

(128 is half of the maximum, which means the pump sees half of the input voltage.)

Is it such a 2 dollar white cheap pump from Ebay ?

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=0N2-0075-00005

According to Ebay, they are : 130 - 220 mA

MorganS:

This is quite likely to burn out the 5v regulator on board the Arduino. It can't supply a lot of power and if the input is 12v then the power is even further reduced.

The best way to avoid this is to connect the positive side of the pump to the raw input power. Even though it's only a 6v pump, it's quite OK to connect it to 12v so long as your Arduino output is one of the PWM pins and you use analogWrite(128) as the fastest speed.

(128 is half of the maximum, which means the pump sees half of the input voltage.)