Power question

Hello all,
Im trying to reverse engineer a circuit. Ultimately I want to reproduce it but with more options. However I have one simple question…

This circuit uses low & high voltage, however I don’t see a transformer!!! I am not an expert, but I assume that there is both Low & High voltage circuits… but where is the low voltage coming from???

Any insight would be helpful!

Thanks,

Bottom View

Turn it around to top view, there you will find a small High Frequency transformer. The circuit here is a "Switch Mode" power supply essentially build by 3 blocks :

a) Line voltage rectifier and HF switch.

b) HF transformer.

c) low voltage rectifier and regulator.

These circuit types are definately not for newcomers, as they will very easy burn up in smoke by even the smallest mistake. More so, they can easily take out your house circuit fuse, leaving you in total darkness, on such mistakes.

Besides you WILL get quite a few electric shocks with this circuit, until you have learned your lesson.

lastly : this is the standard type of circuit found in almost any small charger for mobil phones, labtops etc. There is a huge selction of voltage and amperage versions on ready made units, for a few quid.

Thank you for the quick replay, I will definitely tread lightly and cautiously!

Can you tell me what component(s) in this circuit make up the power supply?

Anders53: Turn it around to top view, there you will find a small High Frequency transformer. The circuit here is a "Switch Mode" power supply essentially build by 3 blocks :

a) Line voltage rectifier and HF switch.

b) HF transformer.

c) low voltage rectifier and regulator.

These circuit types are definately not for newcomers, as they will very easy burn up in smoke by even the smallest mistake. More so, they can easily take out your house circuit fuse, leaving you in total darkness, on such mistakes.