Power Supply and Pump Control using LM2576 and Arduino micro

Hello,

This is my first time here and I am new to the world of electronics. I have a personal project involving a vacuum pump that I would like to control via an Arduino while powering it through a lifePo battery.

I did some preliminary research, but it's all so overwhelming. To be concise, I figured the LM2576 would be a good fit for providing regulated power to a 12V vacuum pump, from a 14V lifePo battery pack. However, the LM2576 has pins for 'on/off functionality and "feedback".

So, my question is how do I use this in conjunction with an Arduino Micro to provide power to the pump, control the start and stop time of the pump, and record how long the pump has been in operation. I know the feedback on the LM2576 is supposed to do something, but it seems it would be unnecessary to use it when I have an Arduino MCU.

Please I need some guidance on how to better conceptualize and use both components effectively. Thank you.

Why not follow the drawing? Feedback controls the output voltage. That's a very fast process and it can't be done by any controller.

The drawing is for fixed output, without the use of the on/off switch, and the feedback is also not configured the way I am intending. I guess from your reply, I need to better articulate my question.

So my intent is to use the Arduino to control the functionalities of both the LM2576 and the pump. I intend to use the Arduino's I^2C to control the on/off actions of the LM2576 providing power to the pump. I also have a pressure sensor I plan to use to check the pump's pressure and subsequently control the on/off activities of the pump using I^2C and the feedback pin of the LM2576. In concise terms, it's to be all automated by the Arduino.
So my question is how to really reconfigure and redesign the schematics of the LM2576 so I can connect it to the Arduino, the pump, and the pressure sensor.